I chose to do the topic Popular Culture, specifically rappers and their music. Rapper such as Waka Flocka is just a MC, but he does not understand how the things that he raps about are a bad outlook on him. It’s not like his audience is only ages 18 and up, if that was the case then his lyrics wouldn’t be a big effect on society. But because the rappers audience is a group of all ages including minors they listen and believe the things he is saying. This is a problem because the songs give a bad message to the youth. Talking about selling a “nick” or shooting someone with your “gat” because they didn’t give you money on time, makes a large percent of kid’s think this is the way things should be. Some children don’t have someone there to tell them that the Rap Industry is just an act and the people that call themselves rappers really don’t sit at their homes and way cocaine to sell. The satirical argument in my news article is why does this rapper make so much money and he is beyond illiterate. You try to prove points and say that you have chains worth over a million dollars but you can barely state how you feel about education. I think ever since the 2000’s hit rap music started to calm down on the songs about gang violence and drugs. They started to talk more about getting money, making things right, our black president and of course women. But when Flame came to the spotlight the club fighting music came back to life. I think this could have an ending result of more children and teenagers going the wrong direction because they believe what someone says in an over written poem. I think that parents of children who listen to this music and listen to these rappers will understand where I’m coming from. Older artist also question why does music have to be about killing someone, or selling a drug to make a buck. This particular topic was chosen because I like to help people and I don’t like to see someone fail because of bad influences. I would like for a rapper such as Waka Flocka to understand why the things he raps about is negative and could actually affect someones actions. My newsletter satirizes Waka Flocka because I speak on his weakness which is not being able to speak correct English. I ask why is it possible for someone to be able to make so much money and not have an education. In my newsletter I use The Pun, a Hyperbole, and also an Oxymoron to make my paper a complete Satirized news article.




Leave a Reply.